YogiOnTheMove

Follow my yoga quest at home and on the road…

Tranquil Space – Washington DC

on April 19, 2013

imageI found Tranquil Space via a Google search. I really liked their website layout, and content. They have two venues in Washington DC.

I registered online, and booked and paid for a place in the Open Flow class with Kelly Tobin at Tranquil Space, Dupont Circle, on Wednesday 17 April, 8-9.15pm.

The online booking system is user friendly for bookings, and cancellations.

I arrived at Tranquil Space half an hour before class start time, and entered the premises through their retail area, where they sell a range of clothing, yoga mats, jewellery, etc. I introduced myself to the receptionist, who asked me to complete a form/waiver, then gave me a tour of the multi level facilities. I was also given a Tranquil Space welcome pack.

They have a variety of practice spaces with names such as earth, and sky. Behind the retail area, there are seats where you may rest, and enjoy tea and cookies. There are Yogi and Yogini change areas.

The room where my class was being given was located on the top floor of the building. There was space for around 15 mats – the floor was marked with silver stars as a guide for mat placement. Bolsters, rugs, blocks and straps were available to borrow. I hired a mat for US$2. Casual class cost was US$19.

Tranquil Space mantra

Tranquil Space mantra

The space was warm – I guess around 27 deg C. The class was a series of asana flowing one to another, often using vinyasa to transition. Kelly moved through the room giving adjustments as she went. Music played throughout the lesson. I was saturated with sweat by the end of the class – I was glad to have bought along the recommended towel.

My energy levels are a little low ATM as I have had a “bug” for over a week. This class was a wonderful opportunity to practice with Santosha, and use my energy wisely.

Thanks to Kelly, and Tranquil Space. I hope to visit you again some time 🙂

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Tales of A Drifter

A Journey | A Story | A Life

Michelle Mischkulnig © 2015

Australian Textile Artist

The Eclectic Light Company

Macs, technology, painting, language, and life

babycrowyoga

my yoga journey

FELTWORKS

news & upcoming events

Flextiles

On fabric, yarn, plastic...and more

Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Your guide to all things vintage - and more

Hope State Style

Photos/Musings of RI based photographer Caroline Goddard

pullofthemoondesigns's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Travel Destinations By 7:AM

Travel|Photography|Life+Style

Melaniedp's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Kamenetzky Fiber Art

Cellular imagery, metaphor and luscious fabrics stitched together

Don't Trip

Trip tips to get you where you didn't even know you wanted to be

LIVING FELT Blog!

Felting Friends Blog ~ Sharing Inspiration, Ideas & Support

Eat Healthy, Love Yoga...

Blog about healthy lifestyle

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

