YogiOnTheMove

Follow my yoga quest at home and on the road…

Canyons, cats, and new friends…

on April 30, 2013
image

Communing with nature in Red Canyon, nr Bryce Canyon, Utah

America is blessed with many amazing natural wonders. Bearing in mind the number and spread of these wonders, whilst planning my current visit to the US, it was a challenge to decide exactly where to visit. After some research I decided to spend 10 out of 41 days in the USA, visiting the Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Bryce Canyon, and Zion.

I have been very interested to note how pet friendly the US is, eg the ability to take pets on board domestic flights – whilst complying with well defined guidelines, many places I have stayed have been pet friendly, pets on leads (usually dogs) are allowed in certain areas of some of the National Parks.

Leo - the cat who came to see the Grand Canyon

Leo – the cat who went to see the Grand Canyon

In an earlier post, I mentioned my two much loved feline friends. Whilst travelling I miss these little guys, however I know they are in safe hands at home, and I always carry them in my heart. When I am on the road I welcome the opportunity to interact with animals (providing it is appropriate) and I must admit I have a bias toward cats…

I had a happy surprise whilst walking along the south rim of the Grand Canyon when I noticed ahead of me a girl sitting on a wall, with a cat sitting on her lap. The pusses name was Leo. He was stressed from the attention he was receiving. Not wanting to increase Leo’s anxiety level, I asked permission to take a photo – which was generously granted, and I quickly carried on my way.

Awesome to meet Leo in the amazing Grand Canyon 🙂

One of the many things I enjoy about travelling is the great people I meet along the way… Whilst in Bryce Canyon I met a lovely lady – Linda Stevenson – who was from Ohio. As we chatted, we discovered that we were both yoga practitioners, and that Linda was also a yoga teacher.

Meeting someone new is special, meeting someone new in an awesome place like Bryce is very special – meeting someone new who also shares the love of yoga is extra special 🙂 Please go to Linda’s website to find out about Exhale Yoga.

Wishing Linda safe and happy travels. Hope to take asana practice with you one day.

Namaste

Grand Canyon

Grand Canyon

Monument Valley

Monument Valley

2 responses to “Canyons, cats, and new friends…

  1. wow…nice experience!

Leave a Reply

Tales of A Drifter

A Journey | A Story | A Life

Michelle Mischkulnig © 2015

Australian Textile Artist

The Eclectic Light Company

Macs, technology, painting, language, and life

babycrowyoga

my yoga journey

FELTWORKS

news & upcoming events

Flextiles

On fabric, yarn, plastic...and more

Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Your guide to all things vintage - and more

Hope State Style

Photos/Musings of RI based photographer Caroline Goddard

pullofthemoondesigns's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Travel Destinations By 7:AM

Travel|Photography|Life+Style

Melaniedp's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Kamenetzky Fiber Art

Cellular imagery, metaphor and luscious fabrics stitched together

Don't Trip

Trip tips to get you where you didn't even know you wanted to be

LIVING FELT Blog!

Felting Friends Blog ~ Sharing Inspiration, Ideas & Support

Eat Healthy, Love Yoga...

Blog about healthy lifestyle

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

