YogiOnTheMove

Follow my yoga quest at home and on the road…

Yo! Yosemite!

on June 7, 2013

399I was – again- most fortunate to spend time in one of the USA’s fabulous National Parks – on this occasion I spent three nights (7-8-9 May 2013) in beautiful Yosemite.

I stayed at the historic Wawona Hotel, in the Washburn Cottage. The hotel, comprised of 6 buildings, was built in various stages during the late 1800s to early 1900s.

During my time in Yosemite, I made my early morning asana practice on the floor on the Washburn Cottage, following sequences from my i-book, Essential Yoga, by Judy Smith.

Of course, “everyday life”, provides opportunity to practise yoga – and being in amongst nature, in a beautiful spot such as Yosemite provided another dimension in which to enjoy, and practise. Hiking to the Chilnualna Falls, and along the Wawona Meadow Loop, wandering along sun dappled trails, surrounded by majestic trees and ancient rocks, passing by sun drenched meadows, and hearing the sounds of bubbling streams or rushing rivers, was meditative. I was very grateful to be able to visit this wonderful part of the US.

I made the one hour drive from Wawona Hotel to reach the Yosemite Valley where I went on a Valley Floor tour. The Valley is fantastic – wonderful granite rockfaces and cliffs, huge boulders scattered here and there, that had been moved to their resting place by a glacier, that was no longer to be seen. Cascading waterfalls, beautiful meadows, and groves of trees, eg Douglas Fir, Ponderosa Pines, Cinnamon Cedars and Dogwood…

The guide/bus driver was full of information about the Valley, and rock climbing – which was his hobby. He drew passenger’s attention to five specks in the distance – fortunately I had binoculars with me, and I could clearly see that the specks were climbers suspended by ropes, making their way up the rock face.

I had intended taking a hike to one of the Valley waterfalls, but the weather had other ideas, ie large rain drops began to fall, followed by hail, and heavy rain, thunder and lightning. The climbers I had seen earlier would have been riding out the storm in the open.

The day I left Yosemite, I visited the Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias. As sequoias have a shallow root system, visitors are requested to maintain a respectful distance from the trees – and many of the trees are fenced off accordingly. I undertook a short hike to see The Grizzly and The Tunnel Tree. These majestic ancient giants are AWESOME! … Wide, tall, tessellated – if I could have, I would have given those loveable giants a big ole giant hug 🙂

I noticed cute little Chickorees – they are like miniature squirrels – darting hither and tither, and I also saw several groups of Mule Deer in amongst the shadows of the trees, nibbling on tufts of grass that had managed to push their way through the leaf litter.

During my time in Yosemite, I had hoped to see other wildlife, such as bears, or maybe a big cat. But, this was not to be. Maybe next time…

Namaste

Wawona Hotel, Washburn  Cottage

Wawona Hotel, Washburn Cottage

Can you spot the climbers on the rock face?, and the hikers in the meadow?

Can you spot the climbers on the rock face?, and the hikers in the meadow?

Yosemite Valley

Yosemite Valley

... as close as I got to a Mountain Lion

… as close as I got to a Mountain Lion

One response to “Yo! Yosemite!

  1. Very good article! We will be linking to this particularly great post
    on our website. Keep up the great writing.

Leave a Reply

alice fox

stitch print weave

Lincs In Stitches

Creative ramblings in the Lincolnshire Wolds

The Booktopian

Booktopia Blog

Tales of A Drifter

A Journey | A Story | A Life

Michelle Mischkulnig © 2015

Australian Textile Artist

The Eclectic Light Company

Macs, painting, and more

babycrowyoga

my yoga journey

FELTWORKS

news & upcoming events

Flextiles

On fabric, yarn, plastic...and more

Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Your guide to all things vintage - and more

pullofthemoondesigns's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Travel Destinations By 7:AM

Travel|Photography|Life+Style

Melaniedp's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Kamenetzky Fiber Art

Cellular imagery, metaphor and luscious fabrics stitched together

Don't Trip

Trip tips to get you where you didn't even know you wanted to be

