YogiOnTheMove

Follow my yoga quest at home and on the road…

A Dedicated Practice

on June 22, 2013

A dedicated practiceA Dedicated Practice

21 June 2013 – My friend’s much loved father, David, passed away earlier this week, at the age of 90. Today was his funeral service.

The same friend’s beautiful, jet black puss – Ruby – also passed away this week. She was 21 yo.

I wanted to support my friend on this day. I needed to make a 4 hour return trip to her house. I wanted to make my asana practice before leaving home. The mind was full of ideas – about time, distance, the funeral, the pain of the family, guilt if I didn’t practice, etc, etc. I was fragmented, unfocussed – not present…

I decided to make some licorice tea, over which I would decide what to do. As I filled the kettle – I returned to the present, it was clear what I should do. Yeahh! I decided to make my practice as long as it took the kettle to boil… which turned out to be 5 minutes.

Following is my asana sequence, which I dedicated to David, and Ruby.

Tadasana
Urdhva Hastasana
Virabhadrasana I
Virabhadrasana III
Ardha Chandrasana
Sukhasana

I then prepared to leave, and made the drive to be with my friend.

I want to share with you this reading from David’s funeral service:

Don’t think of him as gone away
His journey’s just begun
Life holds so many facets
This earth is only one
Just think of him as resting
From the sorrows and the tears
In a place of warmth and comfort
Where there are no days and years
Think how he must be wishing
That we could know today
How nothing but our sadness
Can really pass away
And think of him as living
In the hearts of those he touched
For nothing loved is ever lost –
And he was loved so much

Om Shanti
Namaste

Leave a Reply

Tales of A Drifter

A Journey | A Story | A Life

Michelle Mischkulnig © 2015

Australian Textile Artist

The Eclectic Light Company

Macs, technology, painting, language, and life

babycrowyoga

my yoga journey

FELTWORKS

news & upcoming events

Flextiles

On fabric, yarn, plastic...and more

Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Your guide to all things vintage - and more

Hope State Style

Photos/Musings of RI based photographer Caroline Goddard

pullofthemoondesigns's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Travel Destinations By 7:AM

Travel|Photography|Life+Style

Melaniedp's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Kamenetzky Fiber Art

Cellular imagery, metaphor and luscious fabrics stitched together

Don't Trip

Trip tips to get you where you didn't even know you wanted to be

LIVING FELT Blog!

Felting Friends Blog ~ Sharing Inspiration, Ideas & Support

Eat Healthy, Love Yoga...

Blog about healthy lifestyle

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

