YogiOnTheMove

Follow my yoga quest at home and on the road…

Iyengar with Karena at the Byron Yoga Lounge in Byron Bay, New South Wales

on October 18, 2015

21 September 2015

After 5 days of up to 13 hours per day of driving my body was feeling the need to participate in a few hours of lead asana practice.

IMG_2389[1]I found the Byron Yoga Lounge (BYL) online, and also Lara Favelle  my regular teacher in Busselton (WA), recommended BYL.

I attended the Monday morning, 10.00am general class – which is usually taught by Liz Costigan – today Karena was covering for Liz.

Before class, Karena took a few details asked me the “usual” questions, eg any injuries.

There were around 15 students in attendance. Early on in the class we practised vajrasana – this was my first time.  Block between feet, and ankles bound, we sat in vajrasana as we worked through arms as follows – urdhva hastasana, garudasana, and gomukhasana – meanwhile my ankle region felt like it was in a vice (!) (Karena had warned it may be a challenging posture.)  Releasing vajrasana and moving into adho mukha virasana was fabulous – I felt my hips welcome the posture and my butt rested down on my heels a lot more comfortably than usual – thanks vajrasana.

The class soon brought home to me how tired my body and mind was after the days of travelling – I went into sirsasana but quickly decided to change tack and hang in the ropes instead. I also opted to take salamba sarvangasana (on a chair).

Thanks to Karena for a lovely class, and BYL for a lovely practice space

Namaste

IMG_2387[1]Byron Yoga Lounge
Unit 22b     1A Banksia Drive
Byron Bay, NSW 2481
Tel: 0402 770 441
http://www.byronyogalounge.com

BYL provides all the “usual props” and equipment you would expect to find in an Iyengar studio.

BYL also offers one class per week in Lennox Heads – check out their website for further details.

Byron Bay was busy – I was not expecting the volume of traffic, or the volume of people. But, it was the school holidays. Though I gathered from signage that traffic was an ongoing issue that locals are keen to address.

Byron has lots of cute shops, and nice cafes/restaurants/bars – a bit like Bali Oz style.

It was lovely to wander around in the evening and enjoy the relaxed feel of Byron. I look forward to visiting Byron again…

Leave a Reply

alice fox

stitch print weave

Lincs In Stitches

Creative ramblings in the Lincolnshire Wolds

The Booktopian

Booktopia Blog

Tales of A Drifter

A Journey | A Story | A Life

Michelle Mischkulnig © 2015

Australian Textile Artist

The Eclectic Light Company

Macs, painting, and more

babycrowyoga

my yoga journey

FELTWORKS

news & upcoming events

Flextiles

On fabric, yarn, plastic...and more

Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Your guide to all things vintage - and more

pullofthemoondesigns's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Travel Destinations By 7:AM

Travel|Photography|Life+Style

Melaniedp's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Kamenetzky Fiber Art

Cellular imagery, metaphor and luscious fabrics stitched together

Don't Trip

Trip tips to get you where you didn't even know you wanted to be

